Embossed swirls on a softened watercolour background

Hi there!

Welcome to yet another blog post with a new card idea!

Today I would like to share with you this colourful card with shiny embossed swirls. I really like how the card turned out, but when I started working on the background I was not satisfied haha

This card was actually supposed to be similar to the previous card I made in the same colour combination (without the black) that looked like an eye cream leaking all over. I used a different watercolour paper, a much thicker one here and distress ink just did not want to cooperate so well, so I ended up picking up al that water with my baby wipe or tissue… I did not so many time that the colour you see here is a it washed out – pretty neat technique actually. I like how with crafting you can always find something new – unexpectedly 😉

Having that background for a few days, I decided I should do something with it! I like the colours and so I decided to use my background stamp by Hero Arts and Sizzix and heat emboss it in black. I love that black on rainbow kind of a look. I then added the banner from Avery Elle – Dotted Dies, I made it a little bit shorter and heat embossed best wishes using Wow – white opaque embossing powder. I then added a few sequins that would coordinate with the background and that was it. I used black card base to kind of “blend in” the swirls.

I hope you like it!

1

3 2

 

I am entering this card in the following card challenges:

Uniko Studio – challenge #18 – Birthday

Seize the Birthday – Anything goes challenge

Linky badge

 

Lawnscaping challenge #100 – Birthday Celebration!

10846312_10205212996710320_8506688940304057320_n

ShowCASe your style – Birthday 

SYSC09 birthdays

 

Addicted to stamps – # 132 make your mark 

Happy Little Stampers challenge – Embossing

CAS_Feb2015

 

Simply Create Too – Anything Goes 

Thank you for stopping by, I appreciate and read all of your comments, so they are always most welcome!

If you like what you see – subscribe to receive every post with a new card!

Take care and I will see you soon,

Kamila

15 thoughts on “Embossed swirls on a softened watercolour background

  1. Stunning card! I love the vibrant background with the black swirls! Thanks for playing the Lawnscaping Challenge!
    -Samantha

  2. Hi Kamila. Don’t you love happy accidents??!! 🙂 Your watercoloured background looks amazing behind the black embossed flourishes! Thanks so much for playing along at Happy Little Stampers.

  3. This ended up being a sensational card, Kamila!! The coloring is divine and I love how you showcased it with your embossed flourish! Thank you for your recent comment! You mentioned that you were a new follower, but I don’t see you in my followers pictures on my side bar. If you like, you can click to follow there, and I can introduce you in my New Friends Corner. Have a wonderful week! Hugs, Darnell

  4. Your glossy black embossing looks fantastic against your soft rainbow of colours. The tag is just enough to finish it off wonderfully. Thanks for sharing at ATSM this week, Anita x

  5. so pretty! i love the crisp black on the colors 🙂 thank you for playing along with us at lawnscaping challenges!

Leave a Reply

