New card project inspired by Vicky…

As I mentioned in a previous blog post lately I have been following Vicky Papaioannou’s blog. She is crazy creative! You can watch her create journal pages as well as handmade cards.

This is the video of the card that inspired my own project – Butterflies Card.

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 18.18.10

I had the die cuts of the same shape as Vicky, which for a while now I was planning to use for the card base, I like how she put together two of the cut outs.

I also love butterflies so I used some of my own rubber stamp – I bought this one is Søstrene Grene, for the background I used pearly white card stock from PaperLine. For the top part of the card I used white card stock which I painted with Distress Ink –  Wild Honey and Mustard Seed, using my blending tool. I also used some distress inks on my butterflies here I used my daubers to blend in the colours apart from the yellows I used a Barn Door red.

For the antennas for butterflies I used stamens from Wild Orchid Crafts, if you press the name the link leads you directly to the shop and the stamens 🙂 – Very good craft shop by the way, if you are looking for rhinestones, pearl adhesives, flowers and all other kinds of scrapbooking embelishments and elements.

I hand cut the butterflies and attached them to the card with a thick foam adhesive to give it dimension. The background for the butterflies was also embossed with an am bossing folder from Forever Friends by HMK cards, after I used the distress ink to colour the page.

For the sentiment, I stamped it using a pigment ink and then embossed it with a clear embossing powder for a glossy look. I used Barn Door red to colour the sentiment strip and I cut the border with my pattern craft scissors.

butterflies happiness1  butterflies happiness 2

butterflies happiness3

 

I hope you will enjoy my card, be sure to leave a comment or like and subscribe to my blog, more new card projects to come soon!

Kamila

One thought on “New card project inspired by Vicky…

  1. As always super creative and always a pleasure to see the creativity in your expressions. Keep it up, these are world class cards, absolutely fantastic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

